What Inspires You?

The image below was the result of me being inspired.  I had just read an article about the artist Nancy Spero in Art News, in which she was described as a person who represented her social beliefs in her life and work.  I’ve never been sure how to do this as an artist, but something about that article, and Nancy Spero, created a little moment of inspiration.  I had just started using giraffes in my work, and they were definitely meant to be artist-figures.  I also work as a high school librarian.  Much of my job feels like the scene below, where the penguin and seahorse are the students, and the soldiers are the (unfortunately too numerous) adults who seem to often be clueless about the realities of working with teenagers.  I end up spending a lot of time mediating between the two.

Defender, 9 x 12" multiple plate etching

What inspires You?

I’m interested in how others respond to this topic as I try to find inspiration for the new pieces I am currently working on.


Leave a Reply

